Posted by: Richard Neale | March 25, 2012

One year on…

It’s exactly a year since I started this blog and the Llyndy Appeal was launched.

Thanks to the generosity thousands of people from all over the UK and beyond, the farm has now been secured for the nation.

Work is now underway on a management plan that will ensure that the wildlife and traditional farming are maintained and opportunities are created to enable people of all ages – visitors and residents – to enjoy, and learn from, this wonderful place.

In fact,  last week saw Llyndy Isaf being the venue for a nature conservation training course, where countryside staff from all over Wales came to study the wildlife treasures of the farm and debate options for its future management.

For me, the exiting appeal has been the culmination of 27 years of working with the National Trust at Beddgelert.  I have recently decided to accept the offer of a 3-year secondment to be the Trust’s Coastal Engagement Manager for Wales and I took up my duties last week.

This will therefore be my last blog post on the NTSnowdonia.

Although I feel some hiraeth (longing) for my time in this wonderful area, I move to my new post happy in the knowledge that there’s an excellent team now getting to grips with looking after this most special of places.

My final remark is to say a huge Diolch  (thanks) to everyone who contributed to the appeal.  Thanks to you, future generations will gain the same pleasure that we do from this beautiful place.

 

If you are interested in our work on the coast of Wales, follow my new coastal blog or on twitter: @ntwelshcoast

 


Leave a Reply

Categories

